I created a 25 chart workspace with a very simple template in each chart.  When I clicked two times in the chart, it expanded to full screen as desired.  I then turned off the info window and the s/r lines and saved the template with nothing but candles and colorbars.  When I double clicked in the expanded chart to return it to the original position in the 25 chart grid, the chart returned with the info window open.  I think there is a conflict between the preferences and the "turn on info window in full screen" command and the hot keys associated with templates.